Leadership and Governance

Canberra Dance Theatre is a not-for-profit member organisation run by an enthusiastic volunteer Board with a range of skills and experience.

Artistic Director

Jacqui Simmonds is Canberra Dance Theatre’s Artistic Director, read more about Jacqui here.

Board of Canberra Dance Theatre

The Board is committed to the delivery of quality dance programs, community performances and classes locally, nationally and internationally. Board members are active in supporting the administration and special events. Board meetings are held generally every two months, along with the Annual General Meeting. Any CDT Member with appropriate skills who is interested in being part of the Board should contact the Chair to discuss.

Current Board members

Pam Diver

Sue Andrews

Cameron Ong

Margaret Vincent

Greg Barrett

Gretel Burgess

Policy and governance

Canberra Dance Theatre Incorporated (ABN 62 856 594 074) is an association incorporated under the Associations Incorporation Act 1991 (ACT). Our governing document is the 2008 Constitution. We have policies on:

Admin Assistants

Want to help CDT, learn new skills, and earn free dance classes? Admin Assistants are the people who staff the office in the evenings and weekends for classes. CDT can’t afford 24-hour staff, so the administrative volunteers make all the difference and they are dancers themselves who love to be part of making CDT such a special place.

Please contact the CDT office to see which shifts are available. As a volunteer organisation – we love volunteers!

Life Members of Canberra Dance Theatre

Life membership of CDT has been awarded by the Board to individuals who have given exceptional service to CDT and our community over the years.

Stephanie Burridge
Artistic Director
1978 to 2001

Amalia Hordern
Artistic Director
2001 to 2006

Meg Millband
Artistic Director
2007 to 2009

Liz Lea
Artistic Director
2010 to 2016

Philip Piggin
Company Director
2002 to 2010

Russell Cunningham

Thor Diesendorf

Jane Ingall

Kay Johnston

David Keany

Priscilla Ruffell

Bren Weatherstone