2016 Great Sport! wins 2017 Australian Dance Award

Outstanding Achievement in Community Dance

Great Sport! was presented at the National Museum of Australia in 2016 as the final work of CDT’s then Artistic Director Liz Lea. Congratulations to Liz Lea; Philip Piggin, Jane Ingall; the other choreographers; and all the GOLD and Dance for Parkinson’s performers who made this wonderful event possible. The Trophy was awarded to ‘Liz Lea and Collaborators’. Our congratulations also go to separate shortlistings to QL2 Dance for Outstanding Achievement in Youth Dance, and a personal shortlisting of Philip Piggin for Services to Dance. Philip is also a teacher at CDT and is based at Belconnen Arts Centre.

Great Sport! was made possible by the generous support of the National Museum of Australia and was produced by Canberra Dance Theatre with funding from ACT Health Promotion Grants and ArtsACT Project Funding, with additional support from Parkinson’s ACT and Belconnen and Tuggeranong Arts Centres. The project was auspiced by Ausdance ACT and CDT acknowledged the generous support of the National Film and Sound Archive.


Individual works comprising Great Sport!

Acknowledgement of Country created by Tammi Gissell
Annette choreographed by Liz Lea and The GOLD Company
I used to run marathons choreographed by Philip Piggin and Jane Ingall, assisted by Debora di Centa
Grand Finale choreographed by Martin del Amo
First and Last choreographed by Gerard van Dyck
None of us want to be in calm waters all our lives choreographed and directed by Kate Denborough

  • The GOLD Company performing in Great Sport!: Sue Andrews, Greg Barrett, Jean Bennett, Vilaisan Campbell, Doug Capp, Graeme Collin, Pam Diver, Denise Druitt, Edna Dundas, Megan Flynn, Jill Fraser, Anne Gardner, Charmaine Hallam, Boronia Halstead, Gemma McKeown, Glenys Harris, Mary Hinchey, Merilyn Jenkins, Jane Keogh, Carol Mackay, Lynne McVeigh, Emely Mills, Luke Mulders, Penny Richards, Joy Roberts, Diana Sandeman, David Turbayne, Margaret Vincent.
  • Dance for Parkinson’s Belconnen: teacher Philip Piggin, assisted by Debora di Centa. Performers: Chris Bedloe, Janet Bedloe, Andrew Eagles, Margaret Healy, Elaine Hollings, Martin Moult, Anne Ots, Joe Ots.
  • Dance for Parkinson’s Tuggeranong: teacher Jane Ingall. Performers: Jenny Galley, Marilyn Nelson, Richard Newman, Jan Robbins, Glennys Steer

Directed by Liz Lea, Jane Ingall and Philip Piggin.

Compere: Liz Lea

2017 Australian Dance Awards nomination